Why I love having a budget…

How having a budget makes sushi day at work more enjoyable!

Days like today are why I love having a budget. I came in to work this morning and saw chefs from a local sushi lounge setting up in the cafeteria at work. I brought my lunch but you know what? The sushi lounge only comes about once a month and I rarely get to go out for sushi these days (Toddler + sushi restaurant = total chaos).  So I decided to get sushi.

download (mmmmm. Sushi.)

(image credit: Pixabay)

So what, you ask, does this have to do with budgeting? Simple. I looked at my budget and knew that I had the money available to enjoy this treat. I don’t feel even the slightest bit guilty about abandoning my very frugal lunch once a month for something that I get a lot of enjoyment out of. This is why I like having a budget.

And honestly? I enjoy this more knowing that a) it only happens once a month, so I better savor it now and b) I’m spending my money intentionally on something I’m really going to love.

Be back tomorrow- it’s face-stuffing time! (I mean savoring time…really, I do…)

Leave a Reply

