Frugal Friday

It’s Frugal Friday! Time to catalog my frugal wins and fails this week.

Frugal Wins

1.  I made dinner every night this week– Go me! This is harder than it seems, since we get home at 5:00 and F. is a hot mess if dinner isn’t ready by 5:30. So I’m happy that I managed to make dinner every night this week.

2. I used up meat in my freezer– I have this bad habit of buying pork when it’s on sale and then afterwards remembering that I don’t actually have very many recipes for pork. So then it sits in my freezer for a LONG time. But this week, I made some very yummy pork kebabs so some of it is no longer in my freezer.

3. I bought clearance exercise gear- Now that I’ve started going to the gym every day, I don’t actually have enough sports bras and exercise shirts for a whole week. I’ve been trying to get by with doing laundry halfway through the week, but it’s been a challenge to remember. So I bought a new sports bra and new shirt, both of which were on clearance for $3 each. They are not the nicest gear ever, but they are definitely good enough to get covered in sweat!

Frugal Fails

1. Food waste– I have had so much wasted food this week. The produce from Walmart that I mentioned earlier in the week all went bad, a loaf of bread that I was planning on for dinner tonight molded, my grill caught on fire earlier in the week and took half of my grilled chicken with it and then I packed up dinner leftovers last night before taking F. to gymnastics and they were still sitting out on the counter, spoiling, once I got home.  Not a good week, my friends.  Not a good week.

I’m sure there are more things, but I’m tired and I think that’s going to do it for me. How’d you all do this week?

Leave a Reply

