Monthly Budget Round-Up: July

It’s the last day of the month, so time to go through the budget I posted at the beginning of the month and see how I did! For this post, you’ll get to see the amount I budgeted in black and the final amount I spent in red or green (depending on whether it’s over or under budget).

Yucky Yucky Debt

  • Planned: $1400 + $2500 at the end of the month
  • Actual: $1293 + $5000 (!!)

Oh yeah. You read that right. $5000! I’m so freaking stoked. You’re probably all wondering, how did you get from $2500 to $5000? So, I sort of forgot that this was a three paycheck month for me (whoops!). Additionally, B.’s paycheck from the military has been sort of challenging to budget for, as it has been different every time. So I made my best guess, but my best guesses always tend toward the conservative side of things. I also underestimated with the original $2500, as I like to leave a little bit of a slush fund each month in case unexpected expenses occur (not Dave Ramsey approved…).

With that small victory dance out of the way, let’s see how I did this month:

Necessities

  • Rent: $1300                  $1300
  • Utilities: $260              $240
  • Cell Phone: $50           $47
  • Groceries: $500           $480
  • Gas: $200                      $166
  • Daycare: $980              $989
  • Maid: $206                    $174
  • Lawn care: $150          $148
  • Brian: $500                   $499

Other Expenses

  • Clothing: $200              $221
  • Gymnastics: $48           $48
  • Restaurants: $100        $87
  • Netflix: $10                    $11
  • Hair/Cosmetics: $100  $80
  • Fun money: $100         $70
  • Miscellaneous: $200    $138
  • Plane ticket: $0             $413
  • Doctor: $50                    $172

Hmmmm….I didn’t do too bad this month.  You can see, even after six years of budgeting, I still don’t remember everything that’s happening when I put together a budget. For example: doctor’s visit.  I knew that was happening (hell, it was on my calendar!) but I still forgot to properly budget for it. Also, our Netflix bill has never changed, but I apparently couldn’t be bothered to actually go look and see what the prior cost was. Finally,  I knew that daycare had some extra expenses due to a few events this month, but I also forgot about that when I was putting together my budget.

The plane ticket was unexpected, but I’m happy to have spent the money, as it will allow me to spend time with my sister, brother-in-law and their beyond sweet newborn baby.  I never ever feel guilty about money I use to spend quality time with my family! In this case, I had actually budgeted for a plane ticket, but not until August’s budget.  However, my nephew made his appearance a little early, hence the expense happening this month instead.

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with the way things turned out this month. A few things I forgot, one unexpected expense and (ahem) one category where ThredUp plus a glass or two of wine made an impact aren’t too bad. Goodness knows we’ve had much worse budgeting months than July. So, overall, I’m pretty pleased.

Final Spending Tally

  • Planned spending: $4704
  • Actual spending: $5283 

Not too bad, given that the difference between those two pretty much equals one plane ticket and one doctor’s visit that I didn’t plan for…

Tune back in tomorrow for an exclusive look at what August’s budget looks like! (Hint- not as good as this one!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

