Five Frugal Things

download (10)

Hi all! For those of you following along, I know I still owe ya’ll a final installment in the KISS budget series.  It’s coming, I promise! A variety of random busy-ness has kept me, well, busy the last week and blogging just hasn’t been making the cut at night.  I used to really enjoy being busy, but more and more I find myself longing for my couch and a cup of tea at night. I think looking after a toddler is so constantly busy that being busy no longer feels satisfying.

Anyway, I haven’t done one of these posts in awhile, so here are five frugal things I’ve done in the last week or so.  What frugal things have you been up to?

I turned random leftovers into soup

I made a roast on Sunday for company and had a bunch of roast and carrots/potatoes left over.  So today, I dumped all of that, plus some beef broth and a bunch of random leftover veggies that were hanging out in my fridge and freezer in my crockpot and voila! Vegetable beef soup for dinner.  F. and I ate it with some leftover rolls I had lying around and now we have an abundance of soup left over for the week.

I made icky bananas into yummy banana bread

I had two bananas that were going bad and one sole banana hanging out in my freezer, so I used them to make a couple of loaves of banana bread.  So very yummy. Also, a fun toddler activity, as F. currently loves helping me cook.

I returned library books on time

F. and I head to the library every three weeks to return books and get new books.  My library very helpfully sends me an e-mail reminder when our books are due, so it’s easy to remember to return them.  F. loves going to the library and I love getting new books that we don’t have to pay for.

I bought chicken on sale at the grocery store

We eat a lot of chicken in my house, so I’m always on the lookout for a good sale on chicken.  Aldis has pretty good prices on chicken, but they often add salt water to their meat, which I’m not a huge fan of.  A regional grocery store around here had boneless, skinless chicken breasts on sale for $1.88/lb so I stocked up.  My newly emptied freezer is now bursting with meat again.  I shouldn’t have to buy meat for another couple months!

I bought F. some used shoes at Once Upon a Child

When F. moved shoe sizes, we got a bunch of hand-me-down shoes from a friend.  However, the shoes had been through quite a few kids by the time they got to F., so she had worn holes in nearly all of them.  However, I’m real averse to paying full price for a new pair of shoes.  So we headed over to Once Upon a Child, which is a resale shop for kids clothing. I got F. a new pair of tennis shoes for $4! I’ll call that a win.  That’s about $15 cheaper than a shoe store and keeps another pair of shoes out of a landfill somewhere.

What frugal things have you been up to??

 

 

 

Leave a comment